The People’s Voice Weekly News & Blogs

"News With An Attitude!"

How to join the “Black Farmers” Class Action Suit

with 98 comments

We are posting the information on our blog, so that those who missed out on the Pigford vs Glickman class action suit that was originally settled in 1999, won’t miss the opportunity to be included this go around.

The Lawfirm is Pogust, Braslow & Millrood, LLC, Conshohoken, Pennsylvania 
Phone:  888-348-6787

This is the link to the lawsuit website is:  www.blackfarmersjustice.com

You can visit this link and fill out a form to be contacted by the attorneys:  Questionnaire 

Also, you will need to download the fee agreement.  They are asking for 33.5% of whatever amount they recover for you.   Download their fee agreement

 

The Press release appears below:

Black Farmers Sue USDA

 

Pogust, Braslow & Millrood, LLC Files Suit on Behalf of Hundreds of African American Farmers Who Claim Racial Discrimination against the United States Department of Agriculture

 

CONSHOHOCKEN, Pa.–(BUSINESS WIRE)–May 27, 2008–The following statement was issued today by the law firm of Pogust, Braslow & Millrood, LLC:

 

The law firm of Pogust, Braslow & Millrood, LLC filed a lawsuit today on behalf of hundreds of African American Farmers who allege that they were the victims of racial discrimination by the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). The farmers were originally class members in the action of Pigford v. Glickman but were denied benefits eligible to them due to defects in the notice program associated with the 1999 settlement. Specifically, the Plaintiff farmers were not given timely notice of the Pigford settlement and therefore were not able to participate in the settlement program and were not allowed to prove their claims on the merits. Last summer, Senator Barack Obama (IL) introduced legislation to allow these individuals the opportunity to prove their claims of racial discrimination on the merits. Senator Obama’s legislation ultimately became part of the Food and Energy Security Act of 2007, passed by Congress on May 22, 2008.

 

As alleged in the Complaint, tens of thousands of African American farmers were discriminated against by the USDA based solely upon the fact that they are African American. The plight of the black farmer in the United States remains worrisome. In 1920, black farmers in the United States owned 15.6 million acres of land; by 1999 that number had fallen to 2 million, and the number is still dropping by 1,000 acres per day. In 1910 there were 926,000 African Americans involved in farming; at the end of the century, just 18,000 remain, and studies report they are going under at five to six times the rate of white farmers. In recent farm subsidy payments, just 18 percent of black farmers received government payments in 2002 compared with 34 percent of white farmers. The average payment for black farmers was $3,460 versus $9,300 for whites, the study said. Overall, although 5 percent of the nation’s farmers are minorities, they get just 1 percent of federal commodity payments.

 

“I applaud Congress for taking such an important step with yesterday’s passage of the Farm Bill,” said Harris Pogust, partner with the firm. “For far too long, black farmers in our country have experienced injustice. Black farmers are such an important part of the fabric of our country. But they must be treated equally and fairly.

The government must be accountable to these farmers, whose time for justice is long overdue.”

 

Today, the law firm of Pogust, Braslow & Millrood, LLC represents several thousand black farmers in their claims to restore their rightful entitlement to government funds. The law firm has established an informational website, http://www.blackfarmersjustice.com for individuals to access information and submit census information.

 

If you or anyone you know has been the subject of racial discrimination by the USDA you may be entitled to compensation pursuant to the Food and Energy Security Act of 2007.  Plaintiffs are represented by the law firm of Pogust, Braslow & Millrood, LLC, which has significant experience and expertise prosecuting complex actions nationwide. For more information on Pogust, Braslow & Millrood, LLC, please visit www.pbmattorneys.com.

Written by peoplesvoiceweekly

June 18, 2008 at 1:51 pm

98 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I would kike to know how to get in on this class action law suit. Please contact me on this web site.

    Mr.Suane B.Huff

    July 9, 2008 at 5:49 am

  2. Dear Mr. Huff:

    If you merely click on the links in the article/information posted above, it will take you directly to the website that the attorneys have posted regarding the lawsuit. Scroll back up this page, and you’ll find links in the article, that give you the name and address of the attorney, as well as an information form.

  3. To whom it may concern, i wanted to know how to get in the
    in on the clas on the behalf of my father willie b preston
    from south ga near samll town call broxton Ga 404/213-3211

    Willie Preston

    August 10, 2008 at 9:55 pm

  4. You would need to get in touch with a law firm mentioned in the above article. There is a link in the article above, that will take you to their website. Also, their phone number appears in the above article. They have an online information form that you should complete and submit.

    Charlotte A. Clark-Frieson

    August 11, 2008 at 4:51 am

  5. I would like to know how to get in on the lawsuit also. My father, Jesse James Lawson was a share cropper in North Carolina for years. Alice Faye Lawson Hall

    Alice Faye Lawson Hall

    October 12, 2008 at 9:58 pm

  6. I would like information on the lawsuit. My father’s name was Willie Raymond Brinson. He was a farmer in North Carolina for approximately 50 years. I submitted an application but I have not heard anything from it.

    Mattie Brinson

    October 12, 2008 at 10:04 pm

  7. I like to know more about the law suit. My grandfather was a sharecropper, but I do not think he owned any land. Also, he did not farm after 1965. My aunt stated that she has a lawyer in Arkansas that said we can join the law suit. I’m not sure if this lawyer is trying to scam our family. Were can I find more information?

    Thanks

    Zena

    November 3, 2008 at 10:51 pm

  8. My parents were farmers from the time I was born and probrably earlier. However my father could never got the necessary loans like the White counteparts to increase his farm productivity and probably really never received for his product the same amount of money the White farmers received for theirs. He farmed all his life and never acquired the compensation he deserved for his labors, the time has now come to compensate and rectify those injustices.

    Willadine Bethea

    November 5, 2009 at 1:18 am

  9. My parents farmed from the time I was born until shortly before my father passed away in 1987. He enjoyed his work and worked hard at making it a livlihood, but could never acheive what he desired because of lack of financial support, so he did what he could with what he had. He made crops but never was he paid the compensation he deserved. In essence he got what he was given and most time spent more than he recoperated at the end of the year. All because he could not get the help and the necessary support he needed from the people who were suppose to help ,not hender, namely the US agriculture department.

    Willadine Bethea

    November 5, 2009 at 1:25 am

  10. yes i would like to know if i can apply for myself and on behalf of my mother she was a sharecrooper but now she haved passed i ;ve chopped cotton could you let me know if i;m eligible for me or my mom

    sheila porter

    November 17, 2009 at 11:18 pm

  11. That was a different thought track. I love your finesse that you put into your writing . Please do continue with more similar to this.

    Internet Banking

    February 4, 2010 at 8:18 am

  12. I would like to know how to get in on the lawsuit also. My great grandfather, Luther Duff and great-great grandfather, Harvey Duff were sharecroppers in Bibb County, Alabama for years.

    -Kimberly Hardy

    Kimberly Hardy

    February 10, 2010 at 5:17 am

  13. I would like to know how to ge into the lawsuit. My grandfather Mr. Theodore McFarlin of Williamburg S.C was a sharecropper.

    Valarie McFarlin

    Vala McFarlin

    March 2, 2010 at 7:23 pm

  14. I would like information regarding this lawsuit. My grandparents and their children farmed cotton in Safford, Alabama, from 1952 to 1971. I chopped cotton and picked cotton until age 15.

    Thank you.

    C. H. Cammon

    March 15, 2010 at 12:26 am

  15. I would like more information regarding this lawsuit. Both of my grandparents pick cotton in Union Town, Ala. Back in the 1920, 1930’s, & 1940’s.

    Wendy Hines

    April 16, 2010 at 1:51 am

  16. My maternal great-grandfather and great-grandmother were farmers from prior to 1894 (when My grandmother was born) until 1919 (when my grandmother migrated to Detroit). The rented a farm in Wayside, Jones County, Georgia where they grew vegetables. It was their means of supporting their family.

    Gloria Mallard

    May 5, 2010 at 11:10 am

  17. My great-grand parents and grand parents and parents were farmers in Alabama (Bullock County.

    Belinda Penn-Isler

    May 8, 2010 at 2:25 am

  18. I applied for compensation for black farmers in 1999. I was denied because the deadline had been cut off without me knowing it. Would the proper officals still have my application on file? Do I need to re-apply? Please advise me of what I need to do.

    Theron Hawkins

    May 25, 2010 at 2:54 am

  19. I would like to apply for compensation for both my mother and father and also myself.
    My mother and father was both cotton pickers back in the 1970’s. They also couldn’t get loans
    and their mothers and fathers were farmers which would be my grandparents and I would like to know how can we get in on the suit? LADRESHA VALE AND FAMILY from Shubuta Ms………….

    ladresha vale

    June 18, 2010 at 2:58 am

  20. I had apply for conforsasion about a year or so and has not heard sent than. I would like to know what is going on with this suit. you can leave me a massage here on my E-mail or call me at 501-442-9629. Please let me know as possible. Lorene Frasier

    lorene Frasier

    June 29, 2010 at 12:23 pm

  21. MY FATHER NAME ALEX HARRIS FARMER BACK IN THE DAY WE WOULD LIKE TO KNOW HOW WE CAN NOW BE APART OF THE SUEIT PLEASE CONTACT ME AT 2913 BARRINGTON DR. MONROE LA 71201 MY FAMILY WANT BE ADDED TOO THE CAIMS NO;318 537- 3292 RO 318-654-4992 TIME RUNNING OUT.

    Gloria Thomas

    June 30, 2010 at 9:51 pm

  22. my father Alex Harris was a Farmer and trying to be added to Black Farmer Claims need your help tme running out most of my family have not apply yet. thank you fo your speedines my no: 601-415-8027

    Lillie Thomas

    June 30, 2010 at 9:57 pm

  23. my father Alex Harris was a Farmer and trying to be added to Black Farmer Claims need your help tme running out most of my family have not apply yet. thank you fo your speedines my no: 601-415-8027 ok but two different person an since you reading my message now that mean that you will help me soon I pray many comment can help.

    Lillie Thomas

    June 30, 2010 at 10:00 pm

  24. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW HOW I SUBMIT MYSELF WITH THE BLACK FARMER LAW SUIT. I BEEN A CATTLE FARMER OVER TWENTY YEAR DOWN IN LOUISIANA AND GRAND PARENT ALSO.

    VERNON WILLIAMS

    July 8, 2010 at 1:06 am

  25. MY GRANDPARENT FARMED COTTON,SUGAR CANE,CORN,ETC…IN THE 1940’S UP TO THE 1970’S AND I WANT TO KNOW IF THIS QUALIFLY FOR THE BLACK LAW SUIT AGAINST THE GOVERMENT.

    VERNON WILLIAMS

    July 8, 2010 at 1:16 am

  26. MY GRANDPARENTS WERE FAMERS ANND MY MOTHER PICKED COTTON UNTIL SHE COULDN’T PICK ANYMORE SHE HAD TO FARM JUST LIKE MY GRANDPARETS AND I THINK I DESERVE TO BE IN THE LAWSUIT OH YES MY GREATGRAND PARENTS ALSO WERE FARMERS.

    Sharon Malone

    July 18, 2010 at 4:52 pm

  27. I have people who farmed in Mississippi and a general in the services which has passed on many many years ago. I went down to see there graves, but I am wondering if I have a right to any of this lawsuit?

    Karen

    July 22, 2010 at 4:58 am

  28. I can already guess the outcome of this lawsuit.

    The plaintiffs receive $20 each (and maybe a coupon for a free bag of fertilizer). The law firm collects a cool 10 million. That tends to be the outcome of these kinds of class action scams.

    Justin

    July 31, 2010 at 5:05 am

  29. With Obama in the White House, a black man beating Strom Thurmond’s son like a drum in a South Carolina primary and the last Democrat segrationalist Robert “Sheets” Byrd assuming room temperature the perpetual whining and looking for a hand outs is wearing mighty thin for those who pay the bills.

    Life sucks for everyone. Grow up and get over it

    NC Girl

    July 31, 2010 at 6:16 am

  30. Hey, I knew some black farmers in North Carolina in the 50’s. How do I jump aboard this gravy train??

    White Race Hustler

    August 2, 2010 at 3:24 pm

  31. The British starved the Irish and forced them to flee to America, where they were told there were no jobs for them. I am of Irish descent, is there a lawsuit for us?

    Tessa

    August 2, 2010 at 11:32 pm

  32. My grandfather farmed in central Mississippi and had black farm help who lived on the farm. Is their sweat on his ground enough to get me some “money for nothin'”?

    Mike S

    August 13, 2010 at 10:50 pm

  33. My grandfather Joe Poke was a farmer until about 1965
    until about 1978 in the state of alabama.He died in
    March of 1979.He was a farmer in houston county and
    henry county.I remember hearing him say that he got
    turn down for a farmer loan from the USDA.

    Prency Poke

    Prency Ruth Poke

    August 25, 2010 at 10:56 pm

  34. My mother was a black farmer so was my father,I also picked cotten in the south.I need to know more about this settlement.I am broke down from picking cotten.Send me info.I do believe we as black farmers need what is due to us because we built this country.

    Linda Lockett

    November 26, 2010 at 1:30 pm

  35. Send me info

    Linda Lockett

    November 26, 2010 at 1:31 pm

  36. MY greatgrand parent, grandfather ,mother,and uncle,farm and sharecrop .They farmed their own land.From the early 1900’s until the mid seventy, in central Mississippi. And were turn down for loans and share crop for seed,and little or no money. Another way of keeping black farmer with a noose around the neck or in a pigeonhold The Hoard Family was a part would like to be added to the long list of Black Farmer who has to farm to survive cotton ,cattle, corn.what ever mean it to.alot of the farmer new nothing else

    Mary Hoard

    November 28, 2010 at 9:05 pm

  37. I was a 23 young white farmer and was turned down by a black USDA loan officer that broke me and was forced out of farming. Can I be a part of this, I need it badly too.

    Will Robison

    November 29, 2010 at 1:08 pm

  38. I PUT IN FOR THE LAWSUIT FOR MY LATE GRANFATHER IN 90S , BUT I NEVER HEARD FORM THEM AGAIN ,I WOULD LIKE A UPDATE FORM IT. MY GRANDFATHER WAS NAME IKE boyd form Ripley ms, 38663

    STAN SELMER

    December 4, 2010 at 6:20 pm

  39. My parents farmed this land thinking it was there’s
    for many many many years not knowning that the white man would not give them the papers that they had paid for the farm land. Both of my parents are dead because of all the hard farming that they did. There is no record of this because they never got a bill of sale for the farm land that they had farmed. When they could no longer farm they had to leave.

    Patricia Edwards

    December 9, 2010 at 4:05 am

  40. WOULD LIKE TO KNOW HOW I SUBMIT MYSELF WITH THE BLACK FARMER LAW SUIT. I HAD FARM LAND IN MISSISSIPPI AND PARENTS AND GRAND PARENT ALSO.

    Cynthia Carter

    December 27, 2010 at 1:07 am

  41. I would like to know if i am elgible for the black farmers claim? My grandparents, great grandparents and great great grandparents were farmers in the state of Mississippi.

    Dinah M Lewis

    December 29, 2010 at 4:36 am

  42. I am a black woman in mississippi that had parents, grand parents, uncles and aunts that farmed and was cheated out of everything they ever worked for and was turned down for loans that would have helped them. do i have the right to file a cliam.for my family’s loss.
    Thank you

    linda tate

    December 29, 2010 at 7:58 am

  43. Does this suit work only for the farmers that owned their land?

    What about the sharecroppers that worked themselves and their families to death down in Alabama and other states. Can they join in the suit as well?

    chief bull

    January 2, 2011 at 8:15 pm

  44. iam the daughter or Brook and Annie Turner and their farm was in Preston Miss. Kemper Co.

    Martha Ruth Turner FOLA

    January 5, 2011 at 11:15 pm

  45. How can it submit myslef to this lawsuit?

    Dorothy Giles

    January 14, 2011 at 1:28 am

  46. How can i join this lawsuit?

    Dorothy Giles

    January 14, 2011 at 1:31 am

  47. My parents was hard working farmers in Arkansas.My mother also work doing what she could from chopping cotten to picking it.I was also told that my father,father before him was a farmer.I was born in the 60’s I grow up on the farm watching my dad work from sun up to sun down an the thanks he got was,he was one of his hard worker.My father died being a hard black farmer and was never compensated just maybe his children can.

    Joyce (Malone) Okoro

    January 18, 2011 at 3:19 am

  48. I was born in a rural area, Ramer, Alabama 36069. My did some farming for hisself. I heard that was born had a chance in ths black farmers lawsuit. please contact me about the information

    Pauline Gamble Cannon

    January 26, 2011 at 10:03 pm

  49. my mother and dad are desesed how do i try to get some heip or cliam forms i want to try to cliam what they earn

    mary e. hall

    February 3, 2011 at 3:04 am

  50. Will I be notified my claim was received to join the black farmers Class action.Will there be a follow up re garding the claim filed?

    Mary F. Butler

    March 6, 2011 at 2:39 am

  51. Please keep me informed. My farther was a sharecropper in Greene County, Alabama. He died broke and left his wife and 9 children with nothing. We helped him with the corn, cotton and sugar cane. We need the help!

    grant walker

    April 6, 2011 at 11:49 pm

  52. my grandfather cropped for years in a town called Ocilla GA He passed several years ago and never got compensated for his loss I would like to get n the lawsuit for blackfarmers

    Tanja Morris

    April 14, 2011 at 2:31 am

  53. My mother is a minority farmland owner who has been unable to farm her land for many years because of lack of funding from the subsidy. Is she eligible to join this suit or is this only for African Americans?

    Jon Hartman

    April 14, 2011 at 12:00 pm

  54. my family was farmer from 1956 to 1985 and was denied
    to file a claim. family names browns and the tolberts

    emmett hall Jr

    April 18, 2011 at 7:52 pm

  55. my family was farmers from 1956 to 1985 and was denied
    to file a claim. family names browns and the tolberts

    emmett hall Jr

    April 18, 2011 at 7:55 pm

  56. my family was farmers from 1956 to 1985 and was denied to file a claim. family names Browns and the
    Tolberts.

    emmett hall Jr

    April 18, 2011 at 7:57 pm

  57. My grandmother Julia Webb and all he childres plus a few of her grandchildren chopped cotton. Please send me info about the lawsuit…

    LETONIA HARRIS

    April 25, 2011 at 7:20 pm

  58. Alex and Christina Battle formerly of Route 2 box 205 Enfield, NC, Halifax County NC
    small family farm

    Queen Lee

    May 12, 2011 at 8:32 pm

  59. i am minnie pearl johnson my husband clem and four of our oldest children shear crop on a farm .harvesting tobacco
    we shear crop in the year 1961 to 1989 or 1990 For J.P Rush in Olanta S.C im instrested in trying to file a claim in this Black Farmer action suit

    minnie pearl Johnson

    June 23, 2011 at 4:41 am

  60. Great blog website! Looking forward to more great topics on Hollywood.

    concash

    July 24, 2011 at 1:16 pm

  61. Hi, My name is angelo Allen I would like to no do I myself file a claim for Black Farmers?

    Angelo Allen

    August 1, 2011 at 8:52 pm

  62. would like an application to apply for denial black farmer lawsuit

    cynthia akins

    August 3, 2011 at 6:00 pm

  63. how to apply for black farmer lawsuit

    cynthia akins

    August 3, 2011 at 6:01 pm

  64. my grandparents were farmer in Hugo Oklahoma and was denied loans. would like to know how to apply for the lawsuit

    cynthia akins

    August 3, 2011 at 6:02 pm

  65. I DON’T THINK YOU ARE FAIR UNLESS YOU GIVE TO ALL THE BLACKS, WHY GIVE IT TO SOME ONE WHO LIE WHEN HONEST FARMERS ARE LEFT OUT. DON’Y GIVE IT TO ANYBODY. I KNOW WE DESERVE IT, BUT CAN’T EVEN FIND AN APPLICATION TO APPLY FOR IT. PLEASE DO IT FAIR

    SALLY MOBLEY

    August 12, 2011 at 9:02 am

  66. please god!!!!!! help us to l o v e all like you l o v e all. we need you..

    EDMOND HINES

    September 21, 2011 at 7:29 pm

  67. My name is Dprpthy McClain, my parents were share croppers all their lives. We filled out an application in 2003 with two black in Greenwood Mississippi who said they were representives. Have not heard from theim to date and all attempts made failed. Our parents are entitled to be in on this claim. Please advise. Contact number: 662-417-6817, anytime. Thank you.

    Dorothy McClain

    June 25, 2012 at 6:17 pm

  68. Hi I heard of this Lawsuit,well if it all is true I shall be apart of it not onbly my parents was a Farmers I was out in those myself, yes sunup and downn am now 57 was borh oct 26 1955 my phone #13158763466 I am an Allen we are an big family from Alabama so someone please let me no something thank you

    harvey allen

    December 6, 2012 at 1:05 pm

  69. I am only asking for what mine do to me and my FAMILYS I still have five sister and two brother who still live I the state of Alabama so give me a call 3158763466 someone

    harvey allen

    December 6, 2012 at 1:12 pm

  70. I personally was browsing for suggestions for my website and located your own blog
    post, “How to join the Black Farmers Class Action Suit The Peoples Voice
    Weekly News & Blogs”, will you mind in case I utilize a
    number of ur points? With thanks -Deena

  71. I would like too join in the class action can u send me some information on it or a packet???? A.S.A.P

    Anthony Rowland

    March 25, 2013 at 5:43 pm

  72. I was born and raised in Alabama and witnessed first hand how Black Farmers were discriminated against by the government. Please send me info

    Cornellia Crum

    March 26, 2013 at 5:50 pm

  73. please send info

    charles copeland

    April 29, 2013 at 9:03 am

  74. This site really has all the information I needed about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

    Mikki

    May 9, 2013 at 5:45 pm

  75. Undeniably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the net
    the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you,
    I definitely get irked while people consider worries that they just do
    not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out
    the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal.

    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

    swim suit

    June 30, 2013 at 5:57 pm

  76. Both of my parents sharecropped the farm of Sid/Cid James and another farmer in Reynolds, Taylor, Georgia until early 1950 I was in Reynolds, last week and was told that there maybe compensation available for their labor. If this is true, please add me to your list.

    oscar peebles

    July 27, 2013 at 4:46 am

  77. I want to know if I can apply for my daddy and if I can please send me a application.

    Nichole Tinker

    September 7, 2013 at 1:34 pm

  78. to whom this may concern. I sent in a claim before year 2000 and have no heard from anyone yet. I have contacted the claim office but they said they have no record of my claim. finally I gave up calling. today I learned there was at least two dead line dates already passed. I could have sent another claim form in if I had known. is it anyway possible I can still get in on the lawsuit?

    brenda chambers

    September 23, 2013 at 9:30 pm

  79. I sent my claim in late. I called to check on it. they said they sent a letter to my address during the time I was at the hospital. I had severe sickness and death the of my wife. I am 76 years old and unable to read. they told me the letter was sent back to the sender. I haven’t heard from anyone since. could someone contact me as soon as possible. thanks so much. my name is Charles barnes.

    brenda chambers

    September 23, 2013 at 9:42 pm

  80. How do you get an application?

    Victoria parker

    September 30, 2013 at 12:18 am

  81. I would like to know how I can get in with the settlement because they said that, they sent out a claim package to my family, but my family said that, they never received a claim package. Please let me know if they try to do something for the people who did not received a claim package.

    jackie

    October 1, 2013 at 10:26 pm

  82. My family received a claim package but did not share info with all descents. Can we still participate?

    Jill Jackson

    October 6, 2013 at 6:34 pm

  83. I apply for blackfarm a coupe of years ago than I got a letter last ,but when I call da the # they told I was lost out of da system…

    Brenda Brewer

    October 13, 2013 at 5:57 pm

  84. My grandfathers on both my mothers side and my fathers side were farmers in Brewton, Ala. They farmed all of their lives and were racially discriminated against. They were cheated, taken advantage and lied to because they were black men. Both of my grandfathers as well as their fathers were landowners and farmers. They were paid a lot less than white farmers for their produce, denied a lot of equipment they tried to get using their land as collateral. They could not get a financial loan on the land they owned because of the color of their skin. The land still remains in my family because they refused to sell. The profit that could have been made was not made simply because they were not given the opportunity to increase their productivity through the purchase of better equipment and the things necessary to thrive in their own business. It was because they were African American. I would love to get more information about the lawsuit as my father who the land was passed on to is alive and well and rightfully deserving of any compensation owed to his late father.

    Sonya

    October 16, 2013 at 3:49 am

  85. My father born in 1895 and my brother in law around 1900 were sharecroppers. Unable to get equipment or any help in Alabama. They grew cotton, corn, peanuts etc. When thy worked for whites picking cotton they received less than white pickers about 50 cents per 100 pounds. When they harvested their crops they received very little profit after paying for the loan of seed, mules and in my brother in law’s times in later years a tractor. I was born in 1950 worked in the fields and witnessed much of the hardships we endured. Getting a loan was unheard of. I would appreciate any information that you could give concerning the Black Farmers Suit.

  86. How can I get an application for my self I work in the peanut field and in the tobacco please call or email me ASAP 407-697-8207

    Angela Faye Harris

    October 23, 2013 at 2:42 pm

  87. Is it too late to receive a claim package? My family was never notified and we have many farmers in the family. Please contact me at murrelljones@gmail.com

    mmj

    November 4, 2013 at 6:05 pm

  88. I would like to know if my siblings and I are eligible to join this lawsuit because our parents sharecropped from the roughly 1950 to around 1965. Prior to their sharecropping, my grandfathers ownedland in Tennessee that was taken from the family once my paternal and maternal grandfathers passed on. My Father was Gaddie Jones and he and my mother sharecropped in Bolivar, Grand Junction,Bells, Milan, Humboldt and Jackson, Tennessee. My siblings and I worked hard and made lots of money for the land owners however no matter how much cotton we picked, chopped, beans we picked, strawberries we picked, potatoes we dug, corn we pulled, tomatoes we picked, they always ended up owing more than they ever used. They were not in a position to complain because the law was on the side of the white farmers, therefore, they were helpless to do anything but continue to work at a loss. We raised all of our food except sugar, flour, meal and cooking oil. We were forced to buy from the general store usually owned by the farmer or someone in their family and whether you got one pair of pants or eight, it seemed my parents never got out of debt at the end of the harvest. To learn more about the plight of my parents and grandparents, lease contact me @ alice_yanes107@comcast.net. Thank you for your assistance and I await your response.

    Alice (Jones) Yanes

    November 16, 2013 at 3:05 am

  89. hi my name is Clifford muff my e-mail address is cliff31@verizon.net and phone #6172594365. my question is am I eligible to join this lawsuit and is it to late to apply for it? can someone le me know before it to late . we farmed in Alabama in a small little town name Uniontown.

    clifford muff

    November 25, 2013 at 12:32 pm

  90. My mother and her brothers and sisters was raised in Mississippi and worked the farms for most of their childhood. My grandmother also worked the farms and just heard from other relatives who still live in Mississippi about this class action. I work for a very large company that handles class actions and have some questions as to why this information didn’t reach all those that should be included in the class action, what’s the class period, was there proof of claim forms to be completed?

    Rischia Phinisee

    November 30, 2013 at 3:29 am

  91. My wife filled out a class action papers in the 1990’s, but she did not keep a copy of the document. We never heard anything from the lawsuit. We are wondering if this is part of the same class action suit. Since she never heard anything, she felt that it was over. Now she got a call from a lawyer who has told her that the lawsuit was out of money. He told her to keep looking online under http://www.blackfarmers.com to see if they are still paying from the lawsuit. We don’t know who to talk to about this to find out if we have already been issued a check, since we have moved from where we lived at the time she filled out the form. And our telephone number is different also. The lawyer found us through her sister. The post office would have sent any mail sent to us back to the sender. How can we get a list of those who were on the class action suit.

    Annie Lewis Fluker

    January 12, 2014 at 10:22 pm

  92. Where do l apply for black farmers application?

    Dorothyreich1@gmail.com

    March 17, 2014 at 3:23 am

  93. Yes my name is Carolyn Tucker -Williams and both of my parents were farmers back in the 1930’swith their parents being sharecropers. I’m interested in finding out how do we get an application form to fill out for a claim in the class action lawsuit.

    Carolyn Tucker - Williams. in reference to Sam Tucker and Edna B. Nelson Tucker

    May 15, 2014 at 1:09 am

  94. I Robert j. hollings, would like to apply for black farmers. my grandparent, and parents, in 1933 /1965 was sharecroppers and farmers.I need find out how to get an application form to fill out for a ciaim in the class action lawsuit.

  95. My mother and daddy farmer for 1940 to 1972. I want.to no how to get in this class act

    shelia webb

    August 11, 2014 at 12:27 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

